Woodland heritage northwest

Learn More


Woodland Heritage Northwest is a Metis owned archaeological consulting firm located in Thunder Bay, Ontario.

Woodland Heritage Northwest respectfully acknowledges that their office is located on the traditional lands of indigenous peoples. Located in Thunder Bay, these lands were the traditional territories of the ancestors of Fort William First Nation, signatories of the Superior Robinson Treaty, Treaty #60, of 1850.  Woodland Heritage Northwest acknowledges the extensive and complex history that First Nations and Métis of northwestern Ontario hold, both along the north shores of Lake Superior as well as on the lands of all of Ontario.  Woodland Heritage Northwest is committed to building, fostering and encouraging a respectful relationship with First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples based upon principles of mutual trust, respect, reciprocity and collaboration in the spirit of reconciliation.

Our team consists of people who are dedicated, diverse, and knowledgeable that provide high level consulting services in cultural heritage management, preservation, conservation and planning. Specializing in boreal forest environments, Woodland Heritage Northwest is adept at working with clients, communities and stakeholders to provide services and deliverables that meet and exceed heritage regulatory requirements.


All stages of Archaeological Assessments require notification to the Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries of the proposed work and involve an extensive report detailing the work that was completed.  All work has to abide by the regulations as set out by the 2011 Standards and Guidelines for Consulting Archeologists.

Stage 1:

A Stage 1 Archaeological Assessment is a comprehensive survey of the geographic land use and historical information that pertains to the development.  Click to learn more.

Stage 2:

The Stage 2 Archaeological Assessment serves to determine the presence of any unknown archaeological resources that might be present in the identified areas from the Stage 1.  Click to learn more.

Stage 3:

If resources are significant enough to warrant further investigations, Stage 3 Archaeological Assessments are site specific.  Click to learn more.

Stage 4:

Also known as Mitigation, Stage 4 Archeological Assessments are only employed if recoveries from the Stage 3 are productive enough.  Click to learn more.